Best Nonprofit Board Training Programs in 2026

Free and paid options for new and current nonprofit board members, compared on price, time, credential and fit, with every price checked on October 30, 2026.

Adults discussing a case study during a nonprofit board training workshop.

The best nonprofit board training depends on what you need it to do. If you want a free start, NonprofitReady offers a free certificate in nonprofit board essentials. If your organization is in BoardSource’s Board Support Program, the certificate comes with that membership. If you want a university-branded bundle, MindEdge sells one through schools such as the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. And if you want plain-language video lessons with a scenario-based assessment, that is what Board Director Institute (BDI), which publishes this article, sells.

What does nonprofit board training cover?

Good board training teaches the job of the board, not the job of the staff. Across the state attorney general guides and course outlines we read, the same topics come up again and again:

  • The duties of care, loyalty and obedience
  • How the board's role differs from management's role
  • Reading financial statements, the budget and Form 990
  • Legal compliance and annual filings
  • Conflicts of interest and written policies
  • Governing documents, meetings and minutes
  • Committees, officers and the board chair's partnership with the chief executive
  • Fundraising, strategy and recruiting new members

The Minnesota Attorney General's Guide for Charity Board Members covers many of these. The Colorado Secretary of State’s Nonprofit Board Member Course has five modules, from fiduciary duties to personnel issues, and lets you print a certificate. Its page lists no price, so confirm the cost before you start.

Is nonprofit board training required by law?

No federal rule that we found requires nonprofit board members to take training. The attorney general guides we read recommend training instead of requiring it. The Minnesota guide says directors “should consider what training and education the board may need.”

A few states require training for one kind of board. Texas, for example, requires charter school governing board members to complete training under 19 Texas Administrative Code section 100.1115. We did not check all fifty states, so look at your own state’s rules and your bylaws.

How do nonprofit board training programs compare?

Nonprofit board training programs compared (checked October 30, 2026)
ProgramPriceTime and formatCredentialBest for
NonprofitReadyFreeThree online courses; hours not statedFree Certificate in Nonprofit Board Essentials; a certificate examA free start
BoardSource Certificate of Nonprofit Board Education$499 for members; $599 for individual membership plus the certificateFour on-demand modules; hours not statedCertificate of Nonprofit Board EducationBoards in BoardSource’s Board Support Program, or members who pay $499
MindEdge Board Fundamentals (sold by the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)$459 for seven courses; $95 each21 hours, online, self-pacedCertificate and digital badge; at least 70 percent on the final examsA university-branded bundle
Tennessee Nonprofit Network: Nonprofit Board Essentials$10015 hours, six modules, at your own paceNone statedA low-cost course from a state association
CareerLearning: Nonprofit Board Member Certification$450Five recorded webinars; hours not statedCalled a Board Leadership Certification on the page; no exam describedRecorded webinars from one presenter
BDI Nonprofit Board Fundamentals$197Self-paced video lessons; hours not statedCertificate of Completion; 24 of 30 assessment questions to passPlain-language lessons and a scenario assessment
BDI Nonprofit Board Governance$69738 video lessons, self-pacedCertificate of Completion; 24 of 30 exam questions to passSitting directors going deeper
BDI Board Chair and Board Treasurer courses$297 eachSelf-paced video lessons (30 and 36)Certificate of Completion; 80 percent to passChairs and treasurers

Prices can differ by school: MindEdge sells the same certificate through several universities, so check the school’s own page.

What does each program offer?

NonprofitReady

NonprofitReady is a program of the Cornerstone OnDemand Foundation. Its Free Certificate in Nonprofit Board Essentials has three online courses: Introduction to Nonprofit Boards, Operating Effectively and Determining Board Effectiveness. You create a free account and pass a certificate exam. Best for: a free start. Watch for: the page states no hours and no pass mark.

BoardSource

BoardSource’s Certificate of Nonprofit Board Education has four on-demand modules: an introduction, the board’s essential roles, the nonprofit context and purpose-driven leadership, and board building and structure. You must be a member to register. The page lists $499 for members, and an individual membership is $299, sold with the certificate as a $599 bundle. Organizations in the Board Support Program get the training complimentary, and that membership costs $500 to $3,250 a year depending on annual revenue. BoardSource says its trainings are for U.S. nonprofits. Best for: boards already in the Board Support Program. Watch for: everyone else pays, and the page states no hours and no exam.

MindEdge through a university

MindEdge’s Nonprofit Skills: Board Fundamentals Certificate has seven courses: leadership oversight, financial oversight, legal obligations, fundraising, measuring progress, public-facing communication and strategic planning. The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee page lists $459 for the bundle, $95 per course, three contact hours per course and a digital badge. MindEdge’s own materials say you need at least 70 percent on each final exam, and UWM’s course pages word it as an average test score of at least 70 percent. Best for: a university name and continuing education units. Watch for: prices differ by school.

Tennessee Nonprofit Network

The state association’s Nonprofit Board Essentials course costs $100 for 15 hours. It has six modules: Understanding Nonprofits, Understanding Board Responsibilities, Board Leadership, Board Fundraising, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, and Succession Planning. The page states no certificate and no exam. Best for: a low price with stated hours. Watch for: no credential is listed.

CareerLearning

CareerLearning’s Nonprofit Board Member Certification is $450 and is built from five webinars, sold as an on-demand recording. The page calls the result a Board Leadership Certification and describes no exam or accreditation. Best for: people who like recorded webinars from a single presenter. Watch for: hours are not stated.

Coursera and the State University of New York

Coursera lists a four-course series, Improving Leadership & Governance in Nonprofit Organizations, rated 4.4 from 288 reviews of courses in the program. It estimates three months at 10 hours a week. The page shows no dollar price, and its FAQ says you cannot take the course for free, so check the cost at enrollment.

Board Director Institute

Nonprofit Board Fundamentals costs $197. It is a self-paced online course for people joining, or already serving on, a U.S. nonprofit board. You learn your duties, how to read the budget and how meetings decide, then pass a 30-question assessment (24 correct, retakes allowed) to earn a Certificate of Completion. BDI also sells an advanced Nonprofit Board Governance course ($697, 38 lessons), a Board Chair course ($297) and a Board Treasurer course ($297). The video and voice in BDI courses use an AI-generated version of Michael Barrick, who reviewed and approved the lessons.

Which nonprofit board training is best for you?

  • Best for a free start: NonprofitReady.
  • Best for boards in BoardSource’s Board Support Program: the certificate, which comes with that membership.
  • Best for a university name and continuing education units: MindEdge through a school such as the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
  • Best for a low price with stated hours: Tennessee Nonprofit Network, at $100 for 15 hours.
  • Best for plain-language video lessons and a scenario assessment: BDI Nonprofit Board Fundamentals, at $197.
  • Best for a chair or a treasurer: the BDI Board Chair and Board Treasurer courses, at $297 each.
  • Best for training a whole board: BoardSource’s organizational membership, or ask BDI about access for several board members.

Who should not choose Board Director Institute?

  • If you want a free course, start with NonprofitReady.
  • If you need continuing education credit, BDI does not claim any. Its Certificate of Completion is not accreditation.
  • If you want live discussion or coaching, BDI courses are recorded and self-paced.
  • If your nonprofit is outside the United States, BDI courses are written for U.S. nonprofits.
  • No course replaces advice from your attorney or an orientation to your own organization.

What should you ask before you pay for training?

  • Is it written for U.S. nonprofits, or for another country?
  • Does it end with an assessment, and what score passes?
  • How long will you have access?
  • Do you need continuing education credit, and does the provider offer it?
  • What is the refund rule? BDI refunds within 14 calendar days if no lesson has been opened.

How do you start this week?

  • Ask for the basics. Request your organization’s bylaws, its latest budget and its most recent Form 990.
  • Pick one program from the table that fits your budget and whether you need a credential.
  • Plan the time. The two programs that state hours run 15 and 21.
  • Bring questions to your next meeting. Training works best when you can ask how your own board does things.

FAQ

Common questions

Is nonprofit board training required?

No federal rule we found requires it, and the state attorney general guides we read recommend it rather than require it. A few states require training for specific boards, such as Texas charter school boards. Check your state and your bylaws.

Is there free nonprofit board training?

Yes. NonprofitReady offers a free Certificate in Nonprofit Board Essentials with a certificate exam. The Colorado Secretary of State also publishes a five-module course with a printable certificate, though its page lists no price.

How long does nonprofit board training take?

It varies. Tennessee Nonprofit Network lists 15 hours, and the MindEdge bundle lists 21 hours across seven courses. Several providers do not state hours, so check before you buy.

Is a board training certificate accredited?

A certificate shows you finished a course. It does not license you to serve. BDI's own page says its Certificate of Completion is not accreditation, licensure or a board appointment, so ask any provider what its credential means.

What should nonprofit board training cover?

At minimum, the duties of care, loyalty and obedience, the board's role compared with management's, how to read financial statements and Form 990, and conflicts of interest. The attorney general guides we read also point to governing documents, meetings and minutes.

This article is general education. It is not legal, tax or financial advice. State law and your organization's own documents can change the answer.

What to do next

Pick the training that fits.

If you want plain-language video lessons and a scenario-based assessment, start with Nonprofit Board Fundamentals. If you want a free start, begin with NonprofitReady.

See Nonprofit Board Fundamentals